6 mins read

كيفية حساب وخفض تكلفة المخزون لزيادة تكاليف المبيعات

how to calculate and reduce stock out cost to maximize sales

By

المخزون بسبب نقص المخزون يمكن أن يكلف الشركات الآلاف كل عام. ببساطة تعلم كيفية تقليل هذه النفقات يمكن أن يؤدي إلى زيادة المبيعات.

يعد تجديد المخزون والحفاظ على كمية الطلب الاقتصادي أمرًا حيويًا لتلبية طلب العملاء ومنع المخزون. و

تحدث المخزونات عندما يستنفد الإنتاج جميع و حدات المواد الخام, مما يتطلب وقف العمليات. ويؤدي توقف العمليات إلى تقييد تنفيذ الأوامر، مما يقلل من متوسط المبيعات والإيرادات. ويمكن لهذه الخسارة في الدخل أن تؤثر في نهاية المطاف على الأرباح والخلاصة النهائية.

خلال هذه المقالة، سوف نناقش الآثار المترتبة على المخزونات والحسابات والتدابير الوقائية.

يمكن أن تنتج آثار

Stockout Stockouts عن سيناريوهات مختلفة، مثل تحت الطلب أو ارتفاع مفاجئ في الطلب. ويمكن أن تتراوح الآثار المترتبة على ذلك من فقدان المبيعات بسبب عدم كفاية المخزون، فضلا عن ضعف رضا العملاء بسبب عدم الوفاء والأوامر المتأخرة.


كما يمكن أن يحدث المخزون بسبب عدم قدرة الشركة المصنعة على إنتاج منتج، بسبب أخطاء في سلسلة التوريد، أو مشاكل ميكانيكية، أو صعوبات تقنية.

وفي حالة وجود مخزون، تحدث تأثيرات متعددة عادة، بما في ذلك-

1. يجب على العملاء الانتظار لفترة أطول لطلباتهم - إذا كان المنتج هو منتج شائع في جميع أنحاء السوق، فإن العديد من العملاء سوف ينتظرون لفترة أطول لأوامرهم. في حين أن أفضل من عدم القدرة الكاملة على الوفاء بالطلب، فإن أوقات الانتظار الأطول تؤدي إلى عملاء غير راضين.

2 - تتراكم الطلبات الخلفية - على الرغم من أنها ليست مثالية للشركات أو العملاء، إلا أنها تسمح للمستهلكين بوضع طلباتهم على منتج خارج المخزون. ومع ذلك، يمكن للطلبات الخلفية على المنتجات ذات الطلب العالي أن تتراكم بسرعة، مما يخلق الإجهاد والإفراط في الإنتاج مع زيادة التأخير للعملاء.

3 - يقوم العملاء بإلغاء طلباتهم - إذا لم يرى العميل المنتج حيويًا أو كان بإمكانه شرائه فورًا من بائع آخر، فيمكنه إلغاء طلباتهم. إلغاء انخفاض الأرباح ويمكن أن يكون مؤشرا على عميل غير راض.

4 - انخفاض الاحتفاظ بالعملاء - إذا كان العميل يريد منتج غير متوفر وغير مستعد لانتظار إعادة تخزين، فمن الممكن أن لا يعود إلى النشاط التجاري. مع انخفاض احتفاظ العملاء، وكذلك متوسط المبيعات اليومية، والإيرادات، وخلاصة القول.

التكاليف الخفية من Stockouts

الأعمال التجارية يمكن أن تفقد أكثر بكثير من المخزون خلال المخزون. كشف تقرير نشرته CNBC أن شركات التجزئة خسرت أكثر من 634 مليار دولار في الأرباح في عام 2015 من الأسهم.

وكان هذا فقدان الأرباح المعوق مبلغ من عدة رسوم خفية التي تشارك في الأسهم. بخلاف الخسارة الظاهرة للمخزون، يمكن للشركات أن تواجه تكاليف عالية من الطلب الخلفي والأوامر الملغاة والعملاء المفقودين.

1 - طلب العودة
عندما يطغى العملاء على الشركات مع الإصدارات الخلفية، هناك تكاليف يجب على مراكز الوفاء دفعها. ويجب على الشركات أن تدفع للموردين تكاليف مناولة متزايدة لضمان حصولهم على المنتجات على الفور. ويشمل ذلك في كثير من الأحيان رسوم إضافية للتسليم السريع.

وفي الوقت نفسه، في نهاية خدمة العملاء، يجب على الموظفين تغيير مواعيد تسليم الطلبات وأحيانا تقديم عروض شحن أسرع أو مخفضة لاستعادة ثقة العملاء.

على المدى الطويل، يمكن أن تؤثر الطلبات الخلفية على متوسط المبيعات. أظهرت دراسة من Multi Channel Tarchant أن الدعم الكبير يمكن أن يؤدي إلى انخفاض بنسبة 10% في المبيعات. ويمكن أن يعزى هذا الانخفاض إلى العملاء غير الراضين الذين كانوا غير راضين عن الفترة الزمنية الممتدة بسبب المخزون.

2 - الطلبات
الملغاة عادة ما تشير الطلبات الملغاة إلى أنه يمكن للعميل العثور على مورد عرض المنتج المطلوب أو كان قادرا على تلبية الطلب بشكل أسرع. الخسارة الأولية للشركة من الأمر الملغاة هي خسارة الأرباح. ومع ذلك، فإنها تفقد أيضا أي أموال تنفق على الأسهم لإنتاج النظام، بما في ذلك تكاليف الشحن والمناولة للمنتجات المعجلة

ويظهر استطلاع للرأي نشرته Statista أن 41٪ من المتسوقين على الانترنت قد ألغى طلباتهم مرة واحدة على الأقل. وقد حاول تجار التجزئة والشركات عبر الإنترنت طرق مختلفة لمكافحة إلغاء الطلبات. تحاول العديد من الشركات تقديم حوافز للعملاء غير راضين، خصومات، أو خدمات مجانية لاستعادة ولاء العملاء، والتي يتم خصمها من أرباح الشركة.

3 - فقدان العملاء
في أسوأ سيناريو من الأسهم، يمكن للشركات أن تفقد تماما أعمال العميل. هذا الحدث هو أكبر ضربة يمكن أن تتحملها الأعمال التجارية لأنها تغير متوسط المبيعات ومعدلات الطلب. إذا كان العميل المفقود عميلاً رئيسياً، فيجب إعادة تقييم كل معلمة مالية، بما في ذلك تكاليف الإنتاج ورأس مال المخزون.

ثم هناك تكلفة أي مبادرة يتخذها العمل في محاولة لكسب عملاء جدد. ويمكن لجميع هذه النفقات أن تضيف بسرعة ما يصل إلى الحد من النتيجة النهائية ويحتمل أن تضع البائع في صعوبة مالية شديدة.

حساب

calculating stockouts 1593018619 5695

Stockouts Stockouts له آثار متفاوتة على الشركات من حيث التكلفة. لحساب تكلفة المخزون، تحتاج الشركة أولا إلى تحديد-

  • عدد الأيام من المخزون (D) متوسط الوحدات المباعة في اليوم (
  • S) السعر لكل وحدة (P)
  • تكلفة النتيجة (C)
  • تكلفة النتيجة

عادة ما تنطبق تكلفة النتيجة فقط على الشركات التي تتعامل مع الخام المواد، مما يتطلب نفقات إضافية على خطوط التجميع للتعويض عن المخزونات. ولذلك، إذا عينت شركة خط إنتاجها لإنتاج صنف آخر لديه مستويات كافية من المخزون، فإن أي إنفاق مطلوب للتغيير سيبلغ عنه كتكلفة نتيجة لذلك.

بمجرد تحديد هذه القيم، يمكن حساب التكلفة الإجمالية للمخزون باستخدام الصيغة-

تكلفة Stockout = (D x A x P) + C
على سبيل المثال، تواجه شركة مخزون من أجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تستمر أربعة أيام. في المتوسط، حجم المبيعات اليومية لهذا البند هو 10، في 650$ لكل كمبيوتر. وإذا افترضنا أنه لم تكن هناك تكلفة نتيجة لذلك، فإن معادلة تكلفة المخزون ستوضع وفقا لذلك-

000 26 دولار = (4 أيام x 10 أصناف x 650 دولار)
تبين تكلفة المخزون هذه أن عدم وجود الشركة لتجديد المخزون الكافي يكلفها مبلغ 000 26 دولار في المبيعات.

كيفية تجنب Stockouts

how to avoid stockouts 1593018619 6509

الشركات تهدف إلى الحد من مخزونها في متناول اليد لتوفير تكاليف التخزين مع الاستمرار في تلبية طلب العملاء وتجنب المخزونات. و هذا التوازن هو خط رفيع جدا و لكن يمكن تحقيقه عن طريق إدارة سلسلة التوريد بصورة منهجية. وتشمل النصائح لمنع المخزونات ما يلي-

1. فهم المخزون - تحتاج الشركات إلى فهم قوي لكل ما ينطوي على مخزونها، بما في ذلك تكلفة المواد الخام، ومتوسط وقت الشحن من البائعين، وتكاليف المعالجة، وتكاليف الاحتفاظ، ومدة تخزين المخزون، ومتوسط الطلب، والمهل الزمنية لكل منتج. فهم كل جانب من جوانب المخزون يمنع أي مشاكل عند طلب المنتجات وإنتاجها وشحنها.

2 - تنفيذ العمليات الآلية - تساعد الأنظمة الآلية على تسهيل العمليات من خلال الحد من الأخطاء البشرية وتبسيط الإنتاج من خلال المراقبة المستمرة لمستويات المخزون في خط الإنتاج. كما تتنبأ هذه الأنظمة بمعدلات الطلب عند دمجها مع برامج التنبؤ، ويمكن إعادة ترتيب المواد تلقائيًا، وتقدير أوقات التسليم.

3 - تحديد نقاط إعادة الترتيب - تشير نقاط إعادة الترتيب إلى الحد الأدنى لكمية المخزون الذي يتطلب إعادة ترتيب. وبدون تنفيذ نقطة إعادة ترتيب مناسبة، يمكن للإنتاج أن يستنفد المواد تمامًا، مما يؤدي إلى وجود مخزون. يمكن إدخال نقاط إعادة الترتيب في العمليات الآلية، لذلك عندما تصل مستويات المخزون إلى نقطة إعادة الترتيب، يتم وضع أمر جديد تلقائيًا.

4 - تنفيذ نظام إدارة المخزون - يمكن دمج أنظمة مراقبة المخزون مع أنظمة نقاط البيع (POS) وماسحات الباركود للإبلاغ عن مستويات المخزون في الوقت الحقيقي. من خلال مراقبة كل معاملة، أمر، وشحن، وإدارة تنبيهات برامج المخزون عندما يصل المخزون إلى مستوى الخطر. كما تقوم هذه الأنظمة بتوليد تقارير مفصلة عن معدلات الاستخدام والطلب والبيع حتى تتمكن الإدارة من ضمان تحسين مستويات المخزون والأداء التشغيلي.

وتمتد تكلفة المخزونات في عمق العمليات التجارية. يتعين على الشركات التي تعاني من نقص في المخزون أن تتراجع في أرباحها مقابل تكاليف إضافية في المخزون والإنتاج مع التخطيط لمبادرات رضا العملاء من أجل التحكم في الأضرار. ولذلك، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن تقوم الشركات بتنفيذ الاحتياطات اللازمة لتجنب المخزون وزيادة المبيعات إلى أقصى حد في المرة الأولى.

Stock Out Cost | 6 mins read

How to Calculate and Reduce Stock Out Cost to Maximize Sales

how to calculate and reduce stock out cost to maximize sales
Chloe Henderson

By Chloe Henderson

Stockout costs due to inventory shortages can cost businesses thousands each year. Simply learning how to reduce these expenses can lead to maximized sales.

Replenishing inventory and maintaining the economic order quantity is vital to meeting customer demand and preventing stockouts.

Stockouts occur when production depletes all units of raw material, requiring operations to stop. A halt in operations restricts order fulfillment, which reduces average sales and revenue. This loss of income can ultimately affect profits and the bottom line.

Throughout this article, we will discuss the implications of stockouts, calculations, and preventative measures.

Effects of a Stockout

Stockouts can result from various scenarios, such as under ordering or a sudden surge in demand. The implications of this can range from lost sales due to inadequate stock as well as poor customer satisfaction due to unfulfilled and delayed orders.


A stockout can also occur from a manufacturer's inability to produce a product, due to errors in the supply chain, mechanical issues, or technical difficulties.

In the event of a stockout, multiple effects commonly occur, including-

1. Customers have to wait longer for their orders - If the item is a popular product across the market, many customers will wait longer for their orders. While better than the complete inability to fulfill the order, longer wait times lead to unsatisfied customers.

2. Backorders pile up - While not ideal for the business or customer, backorders allow consumers to place their orders on an out-of-stock product. However, backorders on high-demand products can quickly build up, creating stress and overworking production while increasing delays for customers.

3. Customers cancel their orders - If a customer does not see the product as vital or can buy it immediately from another vendor, they can cancel their order. Cancelations lower profits and can be an indicator of an unsatisfied customer.

4. Customer retention decreases - If a customer wants a product that is not available and is unwilling to wait for a restock, it is possible that they will not return to the business. As customer retention decreases, so does average daily sales, revenue, and the bottom line.

Hidden Costs of Stockouts

A business can lose much more than inventory during a stockout. A report published by CNBC revealed that retail companies lost over $634 billion in profits in 2015 from stockouts.

This crippling profit loss was a sum of several hidden fees that are involved in stockouts. Other than the apparent loss of inventory, businesses can experience high costs of back-ordering, canceled orders, and lost customers.

1. Back Ordering
When customers overwhelm businesses with backorders, there are costs the fulfillment centers must pay. Companies must pay suppliers increased handling costs to ensure they are promptly receiving the products. This often includes extra fees for expedited delivery.

Meanwhile, on the customer service end, the staff members must change the order delivery dates and sometimes offer faster or discounted shipping offers to regain customer trust.

In the long run, backorders could affect average sales. A study from Multi Channel Merchant showed that significant backorders could result in a 10% decrease in sales. This decline can be attributed to unsatisfied customers who were unhappy with the extended lead time due to the stockout.

2. Canceled Orders
Canceled orders usually indicate that the customer could find a vendor that offered the desired product or was able to fulfill the request quicker. The company's initial loss from the canceled order is the loss of profits. However, they also lose any money spent on the stock to produce the order, including shipping and handling costs for the expedited products

A poll posted by Statista shows that 41% of online shoppers have canceled their orders at least once. Retailers and online businesses have tried different ways to combat order cancelations. Many companies try to offer unsatisfied customer incentives, discounts, or free services to regain customer loyalty, which is deducted from the company's profits.

3. Losing Customers
In the worst-case scenario of a stockout, companies can lose a customer's business altogether. This event is the biggest hit a business can endure as it changes the sales average and demand rates. If the customer lost was a major client, every financial parameter, including production costs and inventory capital, needs to be reevaluated.

Then there is the cost of whatever initiative the business is taking to try to gain new customers. All of these expenses can quickly add up to diminish the bottom line and potentially put the vendor in severe financial difficulty.

Calculating Stockouts

calculating stockouts 3677

Stockouts have varying effects on companies in terms of cost. To calculate the cost of a stockout, a business first needs to identify-

  • Number of Days Out of Stock (D)
  • Average Units Sold per Day (S)
  • Price per Unit (P)
  • Cost of Consequence (C)

The cost of consequence usually only applies to businesses that handle raw materials, requiring additional expenditures on assembly lines to compensate for stockouts. Therefore, if a company recruited their production line to produce another item that had sufficient stock levels, any spending required for the change would be reported as cost of consequence.

Once these values are identified, the total cost of a stockout can be calculated using the formula-

Stockout cost = (D x A x P) + C
For example, a company experiences a stockout of computers that lasts four days. On average, the daily sales volume for this item is 10, at $650 per computer. Assuming that there was no cost of consequence, their stockout cost equation would be set up accordingly-

$26,000 = (4 days x 10 items x $650)
This stockout cost shows that the company's lack of adequate inventory replenishment cost them $26,000 in sales.

How to Avoid Stockouts

how to avoid stockouts 3678

Businesses aim to limit their inventory on hand to save on storage costs while still meeting customer demand and avoiding stockouts. This balance is a very fine line but can be achieved by managing the supply chain systematically. Tips for preventing stockouts include-

1. Understand the inventory - Businesses need to have a strong understanding of everything involving their stock, including the cost of raw materials, average shipment time from vendors, processing costs, holding costs, stock shelf-life, average demand, and lead times for each product. Understanding every aspect of inventory prevents any issues when ordering, producing, and shipping products.

2. Implement automated processes - Automated systems help smooth operations by limiting human error and streamlining production by continually monitoring inventory levels in the production line. These systems also forecast demand rates when integrated with forecasting software, can automatically reorder materials, and estimate delivery times.

3. Determine reorder points - Reorder points refer to the minimum threshold of stock quantity that warrants a reorder. Without a proper reorder point implemented, production can completely deplete materials, resulting in a stockout. Reorder points can be inputted in automated processes, so when stock levels hit the reorder point, a new order is automatically placed.

4. Implement an inventory management system - Inventory control systems can be integrated with point-of-sale (POS) systems and barcode scanners to report real-time stock levels. By monitoring every transaction, order, and shipment, inventory software alerts management when the stock reaches the danger level. These systems also generate detailed reports on usage, demand, and sale rates so management can ensure stock levels and operational performance are optimized.

The cost of stockouts runs deep into business operations. Companies who experience shortages in inventory have to dip into their profits for extra stock and production costs while planning customer satisfaction initiatives for damage control. Therefore, it is vital that businesses implement precautions to avoid stockouts and maximize sales the first time around.