الاقتصادية الكمية يمكن | 9 mins read

دليل لكمية الطلب الاقتصادي في

guide to economic order quantity in inventory management
كلوي هندرسون

By كلوي هندرسون

أعمال إدارة المخزون التي تستخدم نموذج كمية الطلب الاقتصادي وأنظمة تجديد المخزون الآلي يمكن أن تزيد من أرباحها عن طريق الحد من سوء إدارة المخزون.

تحتاج الشركات إلى النظر عن كثب في كيفية تحسين إدارة المخزون لديها لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الأرباح.

يمكن أن يؤدي سوء إدارة الأسهم إلى الإفراط في تخزين المنتجات ونقص المخزون، مما يؤدي إلى إهدار الوقت والموارد ورأس المال. وقد كلف تشويه المخزون، بما في ذلك المخزونات والمخزونات الزائدة، الأعمال التجارية في جميع أنحاء العالم أكثر من 1.1 تريليون دولار. و يمكن أن يساعد تنفيذ نظم مراقبة المخزون لوضع أوامر المخزون المناسبة في منع حدوث هذه الخسائر.

كما أن خفض النفقات مثل شراء المخزون وتكاليف الاحتفاظ يمكن أن يزيد هامش ربح الشركة إلى أقصى حد. لحساب كمية الطلب الأمثل بدقة، يجب على الشركات استخدام طريقة كمية الأمر الاقتصادي (EOQ). تهدف هذه الطريقة إلى تقليل تكاليف الطلب والحمل من خلال تحليل تكلفة إعداد المخزون وتكلفة الإنتاج ومعدل الطلب.

سوف تشرح هذه المقالة أهمية EOQ، وكيف تؤثر على النتيجة النهائية للشركة، وكيفية تنفيذها بشكل صحيح.

ما هو EOQ وكيف يمكن أن تساعد؟

what is eoq and how can it help 1592853564 6373

كمية الطلب الاقتصادي هي الكمية الشرائية المثالية للمنتجات لتجنب الإفراط في التخزين. كما أن نقطة الطلب المثلى ستخفض النفقات ذات الصلة مثل المخزون والحمل وتكاليف النقص.

وضعت فورد دبليو هاريس النموذج الأصلي لأول مرة في عام 1923، الذي حافظ على مستوى الطلب والأسعار ثابتة. تم تعديل هذه الطريقة عدة مرات لحساب مستويات الإنتاج المختلفة وفواصل الأوامر والتكاليف المتغيرة للشركات الكبيرة. حساباتها لها فوائد للشركات من جميع الأحجام، بما في ذلك-

  • خفض تكلفة المخزون - EOQ هو أداة التدفق النقدي التي تساعد الشركات على العثور على حيث يمكن حفظ النفقات داخل المخزون، مثل رأس المال المرتبط في التخزين الناقص، الإفراط في التخزين، المنتجات المفقودة، الطلب، و عقد الرسوم. عندما يتم حساب EOQ بشكل صحيح، يمكن للشركة أن تحدد بالضبط مقدار كل منتج تحتاج إلى توفيره على النفقات غير المرغوب فيها. كما المخزون اليوم المعلقة، أو طول الوقت الشركات عقد الأسهم قبل بيعها، وزيادة، والمنتجات يستغرق وقتا أطول لتحويل إلى النقدية وتأخذ مساحة قيمة. يمكن استخدام رأس المال المحفوظ من الطلب والأسهم القابضة في أماكن أخرى لتوسيع الأعمال التجارية.
  • رضا العملاء - عندما يتم تحديد مستوى المخزون الأمثل، يمكن للشركات تلبية طلب العملاء بشكل كاف. ويمكن لهذه الصيغة أن تساعد المؤسسات على حساب كمية المخزون التي ينبغي أن تحتفظ بها وتقرر متى تقدم الطلبات. مع هذه المعلومات، يمكن للشركات تجنب العملاء غير الراضين عن طريق منع المخزون، والشحنات المتأخرة، والأوامر الخلفية. وطالما تحافظ الشركات على مستويات أسهمها المثلى، فإن ثقة العملاء وولائهم ستزداد، مما يعزز مبيعات الشركة.
  • تحسين الإنتاجية - تعني حسابات EOQ الصحيحة أن الشركات لديها مخزون كاف في متناول اليد للعمل بكفاءة. مع انخفاض المبيعات بشكل طبيعي وتدفقها على مدار العام، تحدد الصيغة بدقة كيف ينبغي لمستويات الأسهم أن تعكس المبيعات المتوقعة. لذلك، يمكن للمستودع تجنب النقص أو المنتجات الزائدة التي يمكن أن تزعج الإنتاج التجاري.

كيفية استخدام صيغة EOQ

لتقليل التكلفة الإجمالية لكل أمر، يجب تضمين المكونات التالية في صيغة EOQ-


D = الطلب السنوي في الوحدات
S = تكلفة الطلب لكل عملية شراء (تكلفة ثابتة)
H = تكلفة الاحتفاظ لكل وحدة (تكلفة متغيرة)
Q = حجم الطلب
C = تكلفة الوحدة (التكلفة المتغيرة)
ط = التكلفة الدفترية (سعر الفائدة)

طلب تكلفة

ترتيب التكلفة داخل الصيغة غالباً ما تكون متغيرًا ثابتًا وتمثل تكلفة وضع واستلام أمر. ويشمل ذلك كل جهد يبذل لتقديم طلب، من الوقت والموارد التي تنفق المقابلة مع البائعين إلى استلام التسليم.

إذا كانت الشركة لا تعرف تكلفة طلبها السنوية، فيجب عليها أولاً تحديد عدد طلباتها سنوياً. يتم احتساب العدد السنوي للأوامر لصنف بقسمة الطلب السنوي على الحجم لكل أمر-

عدد الطلبات = D/Q

للأوامر ذات التكلفة المحددة التي لا تعتمد على عدد الوحدات، يتم صياغة تكلفة الطلب السنوية بضرب عدد الأوامر حسب التكلفة المحددة-

تكلفة الطلب السنوية = D/Q x S
بمجرد تحديد تكلفة الطلب السنوية، تحتاج الشركات إلى العثور بدقة على مقدار ما تنفقه لتخزين مخزوناتها.

تكلفة

الاحتفاظ بتكاليف الاحتفاظ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم تكلفة التخزين أو الحمل، هي المبلغ الذي ينفقه العمل على رسوم التخزين لتخزين مخزوناته. كما يمكن أن تأخذ تكاليف الحجز في الاعتبار تكلفة الفرصة البديلة، والتي تشير إلى الأموال التي يحتمل أن تضيع عند شراء منتج بدلاً من منتج آخر.

تكلفة التخزين هي متغير تابع يتناسب بشكل مباشر مع مقدار المخزون الفعلي. وبعبارة أخرى، كلما زاد المخزون لدى الشركة في المستودع، زادت تكلفة الاحتفاظ بها. ولذلك، يجب على الشركات أن تأخذ من الوقت لتحديد المستوى المناسب من الأسهم لعقد في الموقع.

يتم وضع تكلفة الاحتفاظ لكل وحدة بضرب التكلفة لكل وحدة بسعر الفائدة-

H = IC
بافتراض أن الطلب الاستهلاكي يظل ثابتًا، فإن المخزون سينخفض بمرور الوقت بمعدل ثابت. هذا الاتجاه يسمح للإدارة لتحديد متى المخزون سوف تصل إلى الصفر وجدولة نقاط إعادة ترتيب.
بعد ذلك، تحتاج الشركات إلى معرفة تكلفة الاحتفاظ السنوية عن طريق ضرب تكلفة الاحتفاظ لكل وحدة في نصف حجم الطلب-

تكلفة الاحتفاظ السنوية = Q/2 x H

التكلفة الإجمالية وEOQ

total cost and eoq 1592853564 3794

بمجرد صياغة الطلب السنوي وتكاليف الاحتفاظ، والجمع بين النفقات تنتج التكلفة الإجمالية للأوامر-

التكلفة الإجمالية السنوية = D/Q x S + Q/2 x H
ثم، يمكن حساب EOQ بقسمة التكلفة السنوية على حجم الأمر مع فيما يتعلق بتواتر المبيعات) د (. يتم تبسيط هذه المعادلة أكثر من خلال أخذ الجذر التربيعي من 2 أضعاف كمية الطلب السنوي وتكلفة الطلب، مقسوما على تكلفة عقد-

EOQ = DTC/DQ = (2DS/H)
على سبيل المثال، إذا كانت الشركة لديها طلب 3,000 وحدة سنويا وتكلفها 700 دولار لكل وضع النظام و 100 دولار لكل وحدة بتكلفة دفع فائدة 10٪، سيكون نموذج EOQ الخاص بهم-

D= 3,000
S= $700
C = $100
H
= $10 i = 10%
Q=Q

يمكن توصيل كميات مختلفة في «Q» للعثور على حجم لكل أمر يولد كمية النظام الاقتصادي بأقل تكلفة إجمالية.

يمكن استخدام جداول البيانات لحساب الأرقام لجميع مكونات هذه الطريقة. ويمكن بعد ذلك إنشاء رسم بياني خطي من البيانات التي تنتج ثلاثة بنود لتكلفة الاحتفاظ السنوي، وتكلفة الأمر السنوية، والتكلفة الإجمالية السنوية. النقطة التي تتقاطع فيها التكاليف السنوية القابضة والأمر تظهر EOQ الموصى بها للشركة.

في هذا المثال، فإن ترتيب الحجم المثالي (س) هو 650 وحدة مطلوبة خمس مرات سنويا، وتكلف الأعمال ما مجموعه 6,481$.

EOQ- 648.07 وحدات (تقريب حتى 650) = ((2 ($3,000) ($700))/($10)

التكلفة الإجمالية- $6,481 = (($3,000) /650 س ($700))) + 650/2 س ($10) كمية النظام

أوجه القصور في EOQ

نموذج EOQ هو أداة مفيدة للشركات التي تتطلع إلى تقليل تكلفتها الإجمالية؛ ومع ذلك، هناك عوامل أخرى يجب أن نأخذ في الاعتبار أن الصيغة لا تحسب. هذا النموذج يحافظ على الطلب الاستهلاكي عند ثابت، على افتراض أن المبيعات من المتوقع أن تظل كما هي على مدار السنة. ومع ذلك، هذا ليس حقيقة واقعة بالنسبة لمعظم الشركات.

تفترض خوارزمية كمية الطلب أيضًا البائعين والأطراف الثالثة لا تتقلب تكاليف الطلب والاحتفاظ بها. و هذه الافتراضات تجعل من الصعب على الشركات القيام بتنبؤ دقيق بالتكلفة الإجمالية.

لا تؤخذ المتغيرات مثل التغيرات الموسمية في المبيعات، والاختلافات في المخزون، والخصومات، ورسوم الطرف الثالث بعين الاعتبار ولكن يجب أخذها في الاعتبار عند حساب التكلفة الإجمالية.

عواقب سوء إدارة المخزون والطلب

consequences of poor inventory management and ordering 1592853564 9279

بغض النظر عن نوع العمل، ومراقبة المخزون يؤثر بشكل مباشر على الأرباح. يمكن أن يؤدي سوء إدارة المخزون وأوامر المخزون إلى تكبد الشركات المبيعات المحتملة والرسوم غير الضرورية. العثور على وسيلة سعيدة بين نقص التخزين والإفراط في التخزين هو العلم ولكنه حيوي لازدهار الأعمال التجارية.

Uncerstocking
understocking لا يترك فقط العملاء غير راضين ولكن يمكن أيضا تقليل ولاء العملاء وإعطاء المنافسين المزيد من الأعمال نتيجة لذلك. في صناعة المطاعم، يعني نقص المخزون المنتج أنه لا يستطيع إعداد أي أطباق تحتوي على هذا المكون، مما يكلفتها المبيعات المحتملة.


وبالمثل، في تجارة التجزئة، يمكن أن يؤدي نقص المخزون إلى خطأ في المخزون أو الشحنات المتأخرة بسبب إعادة طلب الأصناف الشائعة بعد فوات الأوان. وتظهر الدراسات أن 34% من الشركات اضطرت لشحن طلبات العملاء في وقت متأخر بسبب نقص التخزين. في هذه الحالة، يمكن أن تزيد تكلفة طلب الأعمال من خلال الحاجة إلى تسريع الشحن لتلبية الطلب.

في بعض الأحيان، لا يكون فقدان المخزون هو خطأ العمل، ولكن بسبب التغيير المفاجئ هو طلب العملاء الذي لا يمكن التنبؤ به. ومع ذلك، ينبغي أن يكون لدى الشركات تقارير كافية عن المبيعات والأسهم تراقبها الإدارة للتنبؤ باتجاهات الطلب وإعادة ترتيب النقاط. ومن المستحسن أيضا للشركات أن تأمر في وقت مبكر وبكميات كبيرة لتوفير على تكاليف الطلب والشحن ذات الصلة. يمكن للشركات في كثير من الأحيان العثور على أسعار أقل على المخزون عندما تأمر في وقت مبكر قبل أن تصل البنود إلى مواسم الذروة.

الإفراط في التخزين .
على الطرف المقابل الكامل من الطيف، يؤدي الإفراط في التخزين أيضا إلى فقدان الأرباح. ينطوي المنتج الزائد على مخاطر أكبر من الضياع أو التلف، مما يتطلب الاستثمارات للعثور على سبب التباين في المخزون.

في أعمال البيع بالتجزئة، يمكن أن تصبح الأصناف التي لا يتم بيعها قديمة، مما يقلل من معدل الدوران ويكلف رسوم التخزين الإضافية للشركة. وعلى الرغم من أنه يمكن تخزين الأصناف خارج الموقع على أمل الطلب في المستقبل، فإن المخزون ينخفض بمرور الوقت من البلى.

من ناحية أخرى، لا تملك صناعة الأغذية خيار تخزين المخزون الزائد لأنها تعمل مع المواد القابلة للتلف. وعادة ما تحتوي المكونات الزائدة على رف قصير مثل، وإذا لم يتم بيعها، يجب التخلص منها، مما يضع الأعمال التجارية في عجز.

عندما يفهم نشاط تجاري مطالب المستهلك ويمكنه منع المنتجات تحت أو الإفراط في التخزين، فإنه يمكن خفض تكاليف المخزون بنسبة 10٪. ويمكن للشركات تحديد معايير الأسهم مثل الحد الأدنى والحد الأقصى لمستويات المخزون لتجنب سوء إدارة المخزون.

فوائد برنامج

benefits of automated ordering software 1592853564 5060

الطلب الآلي مع زيادة المخزون والطلب على المستهلك في الأعمال التجارية، وكذلك الحاجة إلى نظام تجديد المخزون الآلي. تتبع المخزون يدويا على عدة مواقع ليست مثالية لأنه يمكن أن تكون مليئة الخطأ البشري وتأخذ كمية مفرطة من الوقت والموارد.

ما يقرب من 43٪ من الشركات الصغيرة إما لا تتبع المخزون أو استخدام نظام يدوي، مما يسهم في حقيقة أن شركات التجزئة الأمريكية لديها فقط دقة المخزون بنسبة 63%.

الخطأ البشري، مثل نقص التدريب، والسرقة الداخلية، وأخطاء التسجيل، كلف الشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم 259.1 مليار دولار سنويا. يمكن أن يؤدي تنفيذ برنامج تخزين آلي إلى منع هذه الأخطاء البشرية عن طريق الحد من عدد الأشخاص الذين يدخلون البيانات.

هناك العديد من المزايا الأخرى للشركات التي تنفذ أنظمة المخزون والتجديد الآلي، بما في ذلك-

  • انخفاض تكاليف العمليات - لا حاجة إلى وضع أوامر يدوية، وتوفير الوقت والمال على توظيف الموظفين لإجراء عمليات شراء الطلبات.
  • الإبلاغ المرن - يمكن للشركات تعيين المعلمات في النظام، مع إنشاء التقارير تلقائيا.
  • ارتفاع معدل دوران الأسهم - يتم تقليل المخزون البطيء الحركة، مما يوفر مساحة أكبر للأسهم مع معدلات دوران عالية.
  • تقليل النفايات - يتم منع شراء المخزون الزائد، مما يوفر رأس المال للشركات على السلع المهالكة أو المتقادمة.
  • رضا العملاء - تحليل الأسهم وإعادة الطلبات التلقائية تأكد من مطابقة مستويات المخزون لطلب المستهلك.

ميزات برنامج

التجديد التلقائي لا يتوقف نظام البرامج الآلي عن مراقبة المبيعات والمخزون والطلب. يتم دمج البرنامج بسهولة مع أنظمة نقاط البيع (POS) وماسحات الباركود لتتبع جميع البيانات من المعاملات، وعد الدورات، والمشتريات، والشحنات.

وتسمح كل هذه المعلومات لنظام التجديد الآلي بتحديد نقاط إعادة الطلب وكميات الطلب الموصى بها. كما توفر بعض برامج ترتيب المخزون ميزات إضافية، مثل-

  • دمج الطلبات - يوفر البرنامج الآلي الوقت والموارد للشركات من خلال تقديم إرشادات أوامر مخصصة تقلل تكاليف الطلب من خلال الجمع بين عمليات الشراء وإعادة التخزين تلقائيًا.
  • بحث المورد - يمكن للبرنامج أن يوفر للمستخدم خيار البحث عن الموردين المحليين وطلب الكتالوج الخاص بهم.
  • البحث عن المنتج - إذا نفد نشاط تجاري ومورده أحد الأصناف المطلوبة بشدة، يمكن للإدارة البحث عن مورد جديد بناءً على المنتج المطلوب.
  • تاريخ الأوامر التفصيلية - يتم حفظ كل أمر يوضع في البرنامج كمرجع. يمكن للمستخدمين النظر إلى الوراء في كل أمر وضعت لضمان الدقة. حتى أن بعض البرامج تقدم تقارير لسجل الشراء تتضمن مجاميع الشراء وتحليلات التكاليف.
  • أوامر قابلة للتخصيص - يمكن للشركات إنشاء أوامر إعادة تشغيل تلقائية استنادًا إلى استخدام المنتج والطلب وتكلفة الأغذية الخام. يمكن للمطاعم استخدام ميزة التحكم في الجزء الذي يكسر كل طبق قائمة حسب المكونات لإظهار السعر الفعلي الذي يتم إنفاقه. يساعد هذا الانهيار المستخدم على تحديد ما إذا كان عنصر القائمة مربحًا أو يحتاج إلى إزالته.
تسمح أدوات التحكم في المخزون مثل نموذج كمية الطلب الاقتصادي وأنظمة تجديد المخزون الآلية للشركات بتحديد مستويات المخزون المناسبة والحفاظ عليها دون أي متاعب.

يؤدي تجنب المنتجات تحت أو الإفراط في التخزين إلى تقليل تكاليف الشراء والطلب والمناولة للشركات مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع إجمالي الأرباح.

Economic Order Quantity | 10 mins read

Guide to Economic Order Quantity in Inventory Management

guide to economic order quantity in inventory management
Chloe Henderson

By Chloe Henderson

Businesses that utilize the economic order quantity model and automated inventory replenishment systems can increase their profits by reducing stock mismanagement.

Businesses need to look closely at how they can optimize their inventory management to maximize their profits.

Stock mismanagement can cause overstocking and understocking of products, leading to wasted time, resources, and capital. Inventory distortion, including stockouts and overstock, has cost businesses around the world over $1.1 trillion. Implementing inventory control systems to place appropriate stock orders can help prevent such losses.

Reducing expenditures such as inventory purchasing and holding costs can also maximize a business's profit margin. To calculate the optimal order quantity accurately, companies should use the economic order quantity (EOQ) method. This method aims to minimize ordering and carrying costs by analyzing the stock's set-up cost, production cost, and demand rate.

This article will explain the importance of EOQ, how it affects a business's bottom line, and how to implement it properly.

What is EOQ and How Can it Help?

what is eoq and how can it help 3639

Economic order quantity is the ideal purchasing quantity of products to avoid under and over-stocking. An optimal ordering point will also reduce related expenses such as inventory, carrying, and shortage costs.

Ford W. Harris first developed the original model in 1923, which held the level of demand and prices constant. The method was modified several times to calculate different production levels, order intervals, and variable costs for larger companies. Its calculations have benefits for companies of all sizes, including-

  • Inventory cost reduction - EOQ is a cash flow tool that helps businesses find where expenses can be saved within inventory, like capital tied up in under-stocking, overstocking, missing products, ordering, and holding fees. When the EOQ is calculated properly, a company can determine exactly how much of each product they need to save on unwanted expenditures. As the day's inventory outstanding, or the length of time businesses hold stock before it is sold, increases, products take longer to convert to cash and take up valuable space. Capital saved from ordering and holding stock can be used elsewhere to expand the business.
  • Customer satisfaction - When the optimal stock level is determined, businesses can adequately meet customer demand. The formula can help enterprises calculate how much inventory they should maintain and decide when to place orders. With this information, companies can avoid dissatisfied customers by preventing stockouts, late shipments, and backorders. As long as businesses maintain their optimal stock levels, customer trust and loyalty will increase, boosting company sales.
  • Improved productivity - Correct EOQ calculations mean companies have enough inventory on-hand to operate efficiently. As sales naturally ebb and flow throughout the year, the formula accurately determines how the stock levels should reflect the forecasted sales. Therefore, the warehouse can avoid shortages or excess products that could disturb business productions.

How to Use the EOQ Formula

To minimize the total cost per order, the following components must be included in the EOQ formula-


D = Annual demand in units
S = Order cost per purchase (fixed cost)
H = Holding cost per unit (variable cost)
Q = Order volume
C = Unit cost (variable cost)
i = Carrying cost (interest rate)

Ordering Cost

Ordering cost within the formula is often a fixed variable and represents the cost of placing and receiving an order. This includes every effort it takes to place an order, from time and resources spent corresponding with vendors to receiving the delivery.

If a business does not know their annual ordering cost, they must first determine their number of orders annually. The annual number of orders for an item is calculated by dividing the annual demand by the volume per order-

Number of Orders = D/Q

For orders with a set cost that does not depend on the number of units, the annual ordering cost is formulated by multiplying the number of orders by the set cost-

Annual Ordering Cost = D/Q x S
Once the annual ordering cost is determined, businesses need to find precisely how much they are spending to store their inventory.

Holding Cost

Holding cost, also known as storage or carrying cost, is the amount a business spends on warehousing fees to store their inventory. Holding costs can also consider opportunity cost, which refers to money that is potentially lost when one product is bought instead of another.

Storage cost is a dependent variable that is directly proportionate to how much inventory is on-hand. In other words, the more inventory a company has in the warehouse, the higher the cost of holding. Therefore, businesses must take the time to determine the appropriate level of stock to hold on-site.

Holding cost per unit is formulated by multiplying the cost per unit by the interest rate-

H = iC
Assuming consumer demand remains constant, the stock will decrease over time at a steady rate. This trend allows management to determine when stock will reach zero and schedule re-order points.
Next, businesses need to figure out their annual holding cost by multiplying the holding cost per unit by half of the order volume-

Annual Holding Cost = Q/2 x H

Total Cost and EOQ

total cost and eoq 3643

Once the annual ordering and holding costs are formulated, combining the two expenditures produces the total cost of orders-

Annual Total Cost = D/Q x S + Q/2 x H
Then, the EOQ can be calculated by dividing the annual cost by the order volume with respect to the sales frequency (d). This equation is further simplified by taking the square root of 2 times the quantity of the annual demand and ordering cost, divided by the holding cost-

EOQ = dTC/dQ = (2DS/H)
For example, if a company has a demand of 3,000 units annually and it costs them $700 for every placed order and $100 per unit at a 10% interest carrying cost, their EOQ model would be-

D= 3,000
S= $700
C= $100
H= $10
i= 10%
Q=q

Different quantities can be plugged into "Q" to find what volume per order generates the economic order quantity with the lowest total cost.

Spreadsheets can be used to calculate figures for all components of this method. A line graph can then be generated from the data producing three lines for annual holding cost, annual order cost, and annual total cost. The point where the yearly costs holding and order intersect shows the business's recommended EOQ.

In this example, the ideal volume order (Q) is 650 units ordered five times annually, costing the business a total of $6,481.

EOQ- 648.07 Units (Rounded up to 650) = ((2($3,000)($700))/($10)

Total Cost- $6,481 = (($3,000)/650 x ($700)) + 650/2 x ($10)

Shortcomings of EOQ

The EOQ model is a useful tool for companies looking to minimize their total cost; however, there are other factors to keep in mind that the formula doesn't calculate. This model keeps the consumer demand at a constant, assuming that sales are forecasted to remain the same all year round. However, this is not a reality for most businesses.

The ordering quantity algorithm also assumes vendors and third parties do not fluctuate their ordering and holding costs. These assumptions make it difficult for businesses to make an accurate prediction of the total cost.

Variables such as seasonal changes in sales, inventory discrepancies, discounts, and third-party fees aren't taken into account but should be considered when calculating the total cost.

Consequences of Poor Inventory Management and Ordering

consequences of poor inventory management and ordering 3645

Regardless of the type of business, inventory control directly affects profits. Mismanaging inventory and stock orders can cost businesses potential sales and unnecessary fees. Finding a happy medium between understocking and overstocking is a science but vital to the business' prosperity.

Understocking
Understocking not only leaves customers unsatisfied but can also decrease customer loyalty and give competitors more business as a result. In the restaurant industry, understocking a product means they cannot prepare any dishes containing that ingredient, costing them potential sales.


Similarly, in the retail business, understocking an item could result in a stockout blunder or late shipments due to re-ordering popular items too late. Studies show that 34% of businesses had to ship customer orders late due to understocking. In this case, a business' order cost can increase by having to expedite shipping to meet the demand.

Sometimes understocking is not the business' fault, but rather due to a sudden change is customer demand that couldn't be forecasted. However, companies should have adequate sales and stock reports that management monitors to predict demand trends and re-order points. It is also advisable for businesses to order early and in large quantities to save on related ordering and shipping costs. Companies can often find lower prices on inventory when they order early before items hit their peak seasons.

Overstocking
On the complete opposite end of the spectrum, overstocking also leads to profit loss. An overstocked product has a higher risk of getting lost or damaged, requiring investments to find the cause of the inventory discrepancy.

In retail businesses, items that aren't sold can become obsolete, decreasing turnover rate and costing the company extra warehousing fees. Even though items can be stored off-site in hopes of demand in the future, inventory depreciates with time from wear and tear.

On the other hand, the food industry does not have the option of warehousing excess stock as they work with perishables. Overstocked ingredients usually have a short shelf like and, if not sold, have to be disposed of, putting the business in a deficit.

When a business understands its consumer demands and can prevent under and overstocking products, it can lower their inventory costs by 10%. Companies can set stock parameters such as minimum and maximum inventory levels to avoid inventory mismanagement.

Benefits of Automated Ordering Software

benefits of automated ordering software 3646

As a business' inventory and consumer demand increases, so do the need for an automated stock replenishment system. Manually tracking inventory over several locations is not ideal as it can be riddled with human error and take up an excessive amount of time and resources.

Nearly 43% of small businesses either do not track inventory or use a manual system, contributing to the fact that American retail companies only have 63% inventory accuracy.

Human error, such as lack of training, internal theft, and recording mistakes has cost businesses around the world $259.1 billion annually. Implementing an automated stock software can prevent these human errors by limiting the number of people inputting data.

There are several other benefits for businesses implementing automated inventory and replenishment systems, including-

  • Reduced process costs - No manual orders need to be placed, saving time and money on hiring employees to make order purchases.
  • Flexible reporting - Businesses can set parameters in the system, having reports generated automatically.
  • Higher stock turnover rate - Slow-moving inventory is reduced, providing more space for stock with high turnover rates.
  • Reduced waste - Excess stock purchase is prevented, saving businesses capital on perished or obsolete goods.
  • Customer satisfaction - Stock analysis and automatic re-orders make sure inventory levels match consumer demand.

Features of Automated Replenishment Software

An automated software system never stops monitoring sales, inventory, and demand. Software is easily integrated with point-of-sale (POS) systems and barcode scanners to track all data from transactions, cycle counts, purchases, and shipments.

All of this information allows the automated replenishment system to determine re-order points and recommended order quantities. Some inventory ordering software also offers additional features, such as-

  • Order consolidation - Automated software saves businesses time and resources by offering custom order guidelines that reduce order costs by combining purchases and re-stocking automatically.
  • Vendor search - Software can offer the user the option to search for local vendors and request their catalog.
  • Product search - If a business and their vendor run out of a highly requested item, management can search for a new vendor based on the product needed.
  • Detailed order history - Each order placed in software is saved for reference. Users can look back at each order placed to ensure accuracy. Some software even offers reports for purchase history that includes purchase totals and cost analytics.
  • Customizable orders - Businesses can generate automatic re-orders based on product usage, demand, and raw food cost. Restaurants can use the portion control feature that breaks down each menu dish by ingredients to show the actual price spent. This breakdown helps the user accurately decide if a menu item is profitable or needs to be removed.
Inventory control tools such as the economic order quantity model and automated inventory replenishment systems allow businesses to set and maintain appropriate stock levels without hassle.

Avoiding under and overstocked products reduces the businesses' purchase, ordering, and handling costs resulting in higher gross profits.