ما هي إدارة سلسلة | 8 mins read

ما هي إدارة سلسلة التوريد؟ عملية، وأفضل الممارسات والمزيد من إدارة سلسلة

what is supply chain management process best practices more
جين هيون

By جين هيون

التوريد تمكن الشركات من نقل المواد الخام، وبناء المنتجات، وتسليمها للعملاء بكفاءة وفعالية.

وقد ظل مفهوم إدارة سلسلة التوريد موجوداً منذ عقود. ولكن في السنوات الأخيرة، أصبحت سلاسل التوريد تحت الأضواء لقدرتها على صنع أو كسر الشركات.

في عام 2014، كشفت دراسة استقصائية أجرتها شركة Deloitte أن 79% من الشركات ذات سلاسل توريد فعالة تحقق نمو عائدات أعلى من الصناعة. بسرعة إلى الأمام إلى 2019، ونفس الشيء ينطبق. وفقًا لتقرير صادر عن شركة Accenture، فإن 46% من الشركات التي أدمجت معلومات الأعمال الرقمية في سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بها قد قابلت عائداتها على الاستثمار أو تجاوزتها. ومن ناحية أخرى، فإن الفشل في تحسين سلسلة الإمداد يمكن أن يؤدي إلى عدم كفاءة العمليات، وضعف العلاقات مع البائعين، وانخفاض وضوح حركة المخزون.


ولكن ما هي إدارة سلسلة التوريد وكيف تعمل؟

باختصار، إدارة سلسلة التوريد (SCM) هي عملية إدارة حركة إمدادات الشركة ومنتجاتها وخدماتها بأكثر الطرق كفاءة واقتصادية ممكنة. وفي السوق العالمية والسوق العالمية اليوم، برزت إدارة سلسلة التوريد كأداة حيوية للحفاظ على القدرة التنافسية.

فهم سلاسل التوريد (

understanding supply chains 1594849484 2619

أ) سلسلة التوريد هي مصطلح شامل يشير إلى سلسلة الخطوات اللازمة لبناء و بيع المنتجات و الخدمات. وهذا يشمل-

  • مصادر المواد الخام من الموردين
  • تصنيع السلع أو تطوير الخدمات
  • حركة المنتجات النهائية من المستودع/مركز التوزيع إلى تاجر أو تاجر التجزئة
  • بيع المنتجات النهائية للعميل
فكر في كل مرحلة من مراحل هذه الشبكة والروابط الفردية التي تشكل سلسلة، وبالتالي مصطلح، سلسلة التوريد. وتشمل الجهات الفاعلة المشاركة في سلسلة التوريد المنتجين والبائعين وشركات المستودعات ومقدمي الخدمات اللوجستية ومراكز التوزيع وتجار الجملة وتجار التجزئة.

فوائد إدارة سلسلة التوريد

كما ذكر سابقا, تميل الشركات التي لديها ممارسات فعالة لإدارة سلسلة التوريد إلى زيادة نمو الإيرادات. ولكن فوائد إدارة سلسلة التوريد هي أبعد مدى مما قد تعتقد. وتشمل هذه-

  • تحسين التعاون - وفقا لتقرير أوراكل، فإن نصف الشركات ذات سلاسل التوريد المجزأة تعاني من فقدان فرص المبيعات بسبب عدم كفاءة تقاسم المعلومات عن سلسلة التوريد.
  • إدارة المخاطر - يمكن أن يكشف الحصول على رؤية كاملة وحبيبية لسلسلة التوريد عن مخاطر مثل مشاكل مراقبة الجودة المحتملة والاضطرابات. وفي المقابل، فإن فهم هذه المخاطر يفتح فرصاً للكفاءة؛ فقد وجدت Oracle أن 87% من الشركات يمكنها تقليل مخزونها بنسبة 22% ببساطة عن طريق رؤية أفضل لسلسلة التوريد.
  • انخفاض التكاليف العامة - تسمح إدارة أنشطة سلسلة التوريد، مثل التنبؤات المتعلقة بالتخزين والطلب، للشركات بخفض التكاليف العامة المرتبطة بالتخزين والمخزون البطيء الحركة.
  • زيادة الكفاءة - أشياء مثل إدارة حركة المواد الخام ومنع تأخير التصنيع تسمح للشركات بزيادة الإنتاجية والحد من عدم الكفاءة.

إدارة سلسلة التوريد مقابل الخدمات اللوجستية

ينحو مصطلحي إدارة سلسلة التوريد و اللوجستيات إلى التكافل, حيث أن كلا منهما ينطوي على حركة المنتجات و المواد التجارية. ومع ذلك، فإن اللوجستيات ليست سوى عنصر واحد من عناصر إدارة سلسلة الإمداد. وهو يشير على وجه التحديد إلى حركة وتخزين البضائع داخل وخارج الشركة في المكان المناسب وفي الوقت المناسب.

وتعتبر إدارة سلسلة التوريد أكثر توسعاً بكثير، وتشمل أنشطة مثل تطوير المنتجات، وشراء المواد الخام، وتوزيع المنتجات النهائية، والتمويل، وإدارة العلاقة مع العملاء.

6 مكونات إدارة سلسلة التوريد من

6 components of supply chain management 1594849484 7290

أجل فهم أفضل لكيفية عمل سلسلة التوريد, فإنه يساعد على التعرف على العمليات المعتادة التي تنطوي عليها إدارة سلسلة التوريد. إحدى الطرق للقيام بذلك هي من خلال فهم مكونات نموذج مرجع عمليات سلسلة التوريد (SCOR).

ويوفر نموذج SCOR الذي تم تطويره في الأصل من قبل شركة الاستشارات الإدارية، PRTM (وهي شركة تابعة لشركة PWC)، والذي أقره فيما بعد مجلس سلسلة التوريد، إطاراً لأفضل الممارسات المنتشرة في ستة مكونات أساسية لسلسلة التوريد.

1 - التخطيط
التخطيط ينطوي على تحديد المتطلبات والموارد والاتصالات من أي عملية سلسلة التوريد. ويمكن أن يشمل ذلك تحليل الطلب على منتج ما، والتحقق من الامتثال التنظيمي، وإجراء تحليلات التكلفة، وتخطيط احتياجات العمالة الحالية والمستقبلية من بين أمور أخرى كثيرة.

2 - المصادر
يشمل مكون المصادر شراء المواد الخام واللوازم والخدمات اللازمة لبناء عروضك. الأولوية هي الحصول على أفضل سعر ممكن دون التضحية بالجودة. وبمجرد التعاقد مع الموردين، سيكون التحدي التالي هو مراقبة وإدارة علاقاتك مع الموردين للحفاظ على الجودة والتدفق الأمثل للإمدادات.

3 - التصنيع
(أو التصنيع) هو المكان الذي تجري فيه أنشطة التجميع والاختبار والتعبئة. ويشمل ذلك أيضًا قياس جودة المنتج، ومخرجات التصنيع، وإنتاجية العمال وكفاءتهم لضمان استيفاء معايير الجودة.

4 - التسليم
المعروف أيضا باسم الخدمات اللوجستية، ويشمل عنصر التسليم-

  • تجهيز أوامر العملاء
  • توزيع أوامر إلى المستودعات
  • نقل أوامر من مستودع إلى تاجر أو موزع

كما كنت قد خمنت، ويشمل هذا المكون أيضا المخزون و التخزين، بغض النظر عما إذا كان العمل يتعاقد مع مزود طرف ثالث للتعامل مع هذه العمليات.

5 - إرجاع
تحتاج جميع الشركات إلى نظام يضمن للعملاء إمكانية إرجاع العناصر المعيبة بسلاسة وبسرعة. و يجب أن يراعي هذا النظام أيضا التعامل مع السلع نهاية العمر - وهي عادة المنتجات التي يتم التخلص منها تدريجيا أو إزالتها من المخزون بسبب انخفاض الطلب.

بالنسبة للسلع المعيبة، يجب أن يحدد مكون الإرجاع قواعد تتبع أداء البضائع المرتجعة وتكاليفها ومخزونها. ويمكن أن تشمل هذه القواعد ما يلي-

  • حالة الصنف
  • متطلبات الأصناف المرتجعة
  • المبالغ المستردة
  • المهل
  • الزمنية لشحنات المنتجات البديلة

6. تمكين
العنصر التمكيني ينطوي على إنشاء عمليات تدعم تدفق المعلومات في جميع أنحاء سلسلة التوريد فضلا عن قدرته على الامتثال لل أنظمة. وتشمل هذه العمليات الداعمة الموارد البشرية، وتقنية المعلومات، وتصميم المنتجات، والتسويق، والمبيعات، وضمان الجودة من بين أمور أخرى.

4 مراحل عملية إدارة سلسلة التوريد

4 stages of the supply chain management process 1594849484 7635

بينما تدير شركات مختلفة عددا لا يحصى من الأنشطة في سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بها، فإن معظمها يندرج في إطار هذه العمليات الأولية - إدارة الطلب، وإدارة حافظة المنتجات، والمبيعات والعمليات، وإدارة الإمدادات.

1 - إدارة
الطلب تتكون إدارة الطلب من-

  • تخطيط الطلب -هذه هي عملية التنبؤ بطلب العملاء، وضمان أن كمية كافية ومتنوعة من المنتجات يمكن تسليمها لتلبية احتياجات العملاء في المستقبل دون وجود فائض.
  • تخطيط البضائع - وهذا ينطوي على تخطيط وشراء وبيع البضائع. الهدف هو تحقيق أقصى قدر من العائد على الاستثمار والتأكد من أن العملاء يمكن شراء المنتجات الخاصة بك في المكان المناسب والوقت والسعر.
  • تخطيط ترويج التجارة - الترقيات التجارية هي تكتيك تسويقي مصمم لمبيعات التجزئة العامة من خلال عروض حساسة للوقت، والتسعير الخاص، ومكافآت القيمة المضافة، وحزم المنتجات، والصفقات غير الملزمة وغيرها.

2 - إدارة محفظة
المنتجات تغطي إدارة محفظة المنتجات الأنشطة التي تتضمن تصميم المنتجات وتطويرها وتصنيعها وإدخالها في السوق. كما أنه ينطوي على إنشاء استراتيجية خروج للمنتجات التي لم تعد مربحة أو تحتاج إلى استبدالها بمنتج متفوق.

وتشمل الأمثلة على أنشطة إدارة محفظة المنتجات-

  • مقدمة المنتج الجديد (NPI)
  • نهاية الحياة استراتيجية
  • منع تفك
  • العلامة التجارية تخطيط
  • محفظة
  • منصة التخطيط

3.
تركز إدارة التوريد على تنسيق الأصول لضمان تسليم المنتجات والخدمات والمعلومات من الأعمال إلى العميل بشكل فعال وسلس وفي الوقت المحدد. وتشمل مجموعة إدارة العرض أنشطة مثل-

  • تخطيط العرض - وهذا ينطوي على تحديد الاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتلبية المتطلبات المحددة في خطة الطلب. والهدف من ذلك هو تحقيق التوازن بين العرض والطلب لتحقيق أهداف الأعمال مع تقليل الفائض إلى أدنى حد.
  • تخطيط الإنتاج/التوريد - يتناول هذا أنشطة الإنتاج/التصنيع في الأعمال التجارية ويشمل إدارة العمالة، وتخصيص المواد، والقدرة الإنتاجية.
  • تخطيط المخزون - تنظم هذه الأنشطة مستويات المخزون المثلى بناءً على احتياجات المبيعات والقدرة الإنتاجية.
  • تخطيط القدرات - تشمل هذه الأنشطة تخصيص المعدات والموظفين لتلبية الطلب على الإنتاج.
  • التوزيع وتخطيط الشبكات - وهذا ينطوي على الإشراف على نقل البضائع من المورد إلى الشركة المصنعة، ومن ثم إلى نقطة البيع. وتشمل الأنشطة المشتركة في التوزيع وتخطيط الشبكات التخزين واللوجستيات والتعبئة والتغليف.

4 - تخطيط المبيعات والعمليات تخطيط
المبيعات والعمليات هي عملية تجارية متكررة تغطي مجموعة واسعة من عوامل سلسلة التوريد، بما في ذلك التسويق والمبيعات والتنبؤ بالطلب والإنتاج وإدارة المخزون وغيرها. الهدف الرئيسي لمعظم جلسات تخطيط المبيعات والعمليات هو تزويد قادة الأعمال بالمعلومات اللازمة لاتخاذ القرارات التي تحدد كيفية إدارة الأعمال.

أفضل الممارسات لتحسين سلسلة التوريد

best practices for supply chain optimization 1594849484 8604

إذا كانت إدارة سلسلة التوريد هي عمل موازن للحفاظ على تدفق السلع والخدمات في جميع أنحاء شبكة سلسلة التوريد، فإن تحسين سلسلة التوريد يكون له تركيز أضيق بكثير.

يتضمن تحسين سلسلة التوريد سلسلة من الخطوات المصممة لتقليل تكاليف تصنيع السلع وتخزينها ونقلها. في الواقع، تم الكشف عن أن الشركات التي لديها سلاسل التوريد الأمثل لديها 15% تكاليف سلسلة التوريد ودورات التحويل النقدي أسرع ثلاث مرات على الأقل من الشركات التي لديها سلاسل التوريد غير الأمثل.

فيما يلي بعض أفضل الممارسات لتحسين سلسلة التوريد الخاصة بك.

  • استخدام التكنولوجيا لتبسيط العمليات - وفقا لتقرير صادر في زيوريخ، تستخدم المنظمات التكنولوجيا بشكل متزايد لتحسين كفاءة سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بها. وبحلول عام 2030، تتوقع 59.6% من الشركات أن يتم استخدام تحليلات البيانات الضخمة على نطاق واسع في مؤسساتها.
  • إدارة علاقات الموردين - الحفاظ على علاقات صحية طويلة الأجل مع الموردين الخاص بك يسمح لتبادل حر ومستمر من ردود الفعل والمعلومات. ومع مرور الوقت، يمكن لهذه الأفكار أن تساعد على خلق سلسلة توريد أكثر تبسيطا وفعالية تضمن رضا الطرفين.
  • فكر في إجمالي التكاليف - عند اختيار الموردين واتخاذ قرار بين العروض، فكر دائمًا في التكلفة الإجمالية للمشتريات بدلاً من السعر في أمر الشراء. تذكر أن الاستحواذ لا يشكل سوى 25% إلى 40% من إجمالي تكلفة الملكية (TCO) للمنتج أو النظام. وتذهب النسبة المتبقية إلى تكاليف التخزين والنقل والتشغيل.
  • اختر الموردين بعناية - قم بتوسيع علاقة شركتك مع الموردين خارج قسم الشراء. تعزيز علاقة تعاونية للحصول على ملاحظاتهم حول أفضل طريقة لاستخدام منتجاتهم أو خدماتهم لتحقيق أهداف أعمالك.
  • وضع إدارة العقود تحت سلسلة التوريد - في حين سيبذل وكلاء المشتريات قصارى جهدهم للحصول على أدنى سعر ممكن على الإمدادات والخدمات، يمكن تحقيق المزيد من الوفورات عن طريق نقل إدارة العقود في إطار سلسلة التوريد. ويتيح ذلك لمديري سلسلة الإمداد الاستفادة من الإنفاق على المجالات التي توجد فيها فرص لخفض التكاليف وإدارة المخاطر مع خدمات الموردين.
  • تحسين المخزون - يمكن أن تستهلك تكاليف الاحتفاظ بالمخزون ما يصل إلى 60 في المئة من تكلفة عنصر محتفظ به في المخزون لمدة 12 شهرا. لتقليل فائض المخزون، فكر في استخدام استراتيجيات التنبؤ وتخطيط الطلب للتنبؤ بالطلب الموسمي.

الآن هو الوقت

لأتمتة إدارة سلسلة التوريد ومن المقرر أن يكون تغيير اللعبة لإدارة سلسلة التوريد، وانها بالفعل هنا. في الواقع، يعتقد 84% من المشاركين في مسح أولويات وتحديات إدارة سلسلة التوريد لعام 2018 أن الرقمنة سيكون لها أكبر تأثير على سلسلة التوريد بحلول عام 2021.

على سبيل المثال، يمكن لبرمجيات سلسلة التوريد الاحتفاظ بسجل دقيق للأوامر التي تتلقاها الشركات في الوقت الحقيقي حتى تعرف مقدار المخزون المتاح في متناول اليد. كما يمكن للبرنامج أيضًا تنبيه مديري سلسلة التوريد تلقائيًا عندما يكون المخزون منخفضًا أو عندما يكون هناك فائض في بعض الإمدادات، مما يساعد على منع عمليات التخزين وتقليل تكاليف المخزون.

أتمتة من خلال برنامج ترتيب المخزون يلغي حاجة الناس لأداء المهام الشاقة والمتكررة يدويا، مما قد يؤدي إلى توفير الآلاف من ساعات العمل في السنة التي يمكن إنفاقها على العمل الاستراتيجي الذي يوفر قيمة أكبر للأعمال.

What Is Supply Chain | 9 mins read

What Is Supply Chain Management? Process, Best Practices & More

what is supply chain management process best practices more
Jin Hyun

By Jin Hyun

The concept of supply chain management has been around for decades. But in recent years, supply chains have come under the spotlight for their potential to make or break companies.

In 2014, a Deloitte survey revealed that 79% of companies with effective supply chains achieve above-industry revenue growth. Fast forward to 2019, and the same holds true. According to an Accenture report, 46% of companies that integrated digital business intelligence into their supply chains met or exceeded their return on investment. On the other hand, failing to optimize the supply chain can lead to inefficient operations, poor vendor relationships, and decreased visibility of inventory movement.


But what is supply chain management and how does it work?

In a nutshell, supply chain management (SCM) is the process of managing the movement of a company's supplies, products, and services in the most efficient and economical way possible. And in today's global and omnichannel marketplace, supply chain management has emerged as a vital tool to stay competitive.

Understanding Supply Chains

understanding supply chains 1594849484 2619

A supply chain is an umbrella term that refers to the series of steps required to build and sell products and services. This includes-

  • The sourcing of raw materials from suppliers
  • The manufacturing of goods or development of services
  • The movement of finished products from the warehouse/distribution center to the dealer or retailer
  • The sale of final products to the customer
Think of each stage of this network as the individual links that make up a chain, hence the term, supply chain. The players involved in the supply chain include producers, vendors, warehouse companies, logistics providers, distribution centers, wholesalers, and retailers.

Online employee scheduling software that makes shift planning effortless.
Try it free for 14 days.

Benefits of Supply Chain Management

As previously mentioned, companies with effective supply chain management practices tend to see more revenue growth. But the benefits of supply chain management are more far-reaching than you might think. These include-

  • Improved Collaboration - According to an Oracle report, half of the companies with fragmented supply chains suffer lost sales opportunities due to the inefficient sharing of supply chain information.
  • Risk Management - Getting both a full and granular view of the supply chain can reveal risks such as potential quality control problems and disruptions. In turn, understanding these risks opens up opportunities for efficiency; Oracle found that 87% of companies could reduce their inventory by 22% simply by having better supply chain visibility.
  • Lower Overhead Costs - Managing supply chain activities, such as warehousing and demand predictions, allow companies to reduce overhead costs associated with stocking and slow-moving inventory.
  • Increased Efficiency - Things like managing the movement of raw materials and preventing manufacturing delays allow companies to increase productivity and reduce inefficiency.

Supply Chain Management vs. Logistics

The terms supply chain management and logistics tend to be conflated, as both involve the movement of commercial products and materials. However, logistics is just one component of supply chain management. It specifically refers to the movement and storage of goods both inside and outside the company at the right place and at the right time.

Supply chain management is far more expansive, involving activities such as product development, procurement of raw materials, distribution of final products, finance, and customer relationship management.

6 Components of Supply Chain Management

6 components of supply chain management 1594849484 7290

To better understand how the supply chain works, it helps to get familiar with the usual processes involved in supply chain management. One way to do this is by understanding the components of the Supply Chain Operations Reference (SCOR) model.

Originally developed by management consulting firm, PRTM (a PwC subsidiary), and later endorsed by the Supply Chain Council, the SCOR model provides a framework of best practices spread out across six basic supply chain components.

1. Planning
Planning involves determining the requirements, resources, and communication of any supply chain process. This can include analyzing the demand for a product, checking regulatory compliance, running cost analyses, and planning current and future labor needs among many others.

2. Sourcing
The Sourcing component involves the procurement of raw materials, supplies, and services needed to build your offering. The priority is to get the best possible price without sacrificing quality. Once suppliers are under contract, the next challenge will be monitoring and managing your supplier relationships to maintain the quality and optimal flow of supplies.

3. Manufacturing
Making (or Manufacturing) is where assembly, testing, and packing activities take place. This also includes the measurement of product quality, manufacturing output, and worker productivity and efficiency to ensure that quality standards are being met.

4. Delivery
Also known as logistics, the Delivery component covers-

  • Processing customer orders
  • Distributing orders to warehouses
  • Transporting orders from warehouse to dealer or distributor

As you may have guessed, this component also includes inventory and warehousing, regardless of whether the business contracts a third-party provider to handle these processes.

5. Returns
All businesses need a system that ensures customers can smoothly and quickly return defective items. This system must also account for handling end of life goods - usually products that are phased out or removed from the inventory due to low demand.

For defective goods, the Returns component must outline rules for tracking the performance, costs, and inventory of returned goods. Such rules can include-

  • The condition of the item
  • Requirements for returning items
  • Refunds
  • Lead times for replacement product shipments

6. Enabling
The Enabling component involves the creation of processes that support information flow throughout the supply chain as well as its ability to comply with regulations. These supporting processes include human resources, IT, product design, marketing, sales, and quality assurance among others.

Online employee scheduling software that makes shift planning effortless.
Try it free for 14 days.

4 Stages of the Supply Chain Management Process

4 stages of the supply chain management process 1594849484 7635

While different companies manage a myriad of activities in their supply chains, most will fall under these primary processes - demand management, product portfolio management, sales and operations, and supply management.

1. Demand Management
Demand management is composed of-

  • Demand Planning - This is the process of predicting customer demand, ensuring that a sufficient quantity and variety of products can be delivered to meet your customers' future needs without having a surplus.
  • Merchandise Planning - This involves planning, purchasing, and selling merchandise. The goal is to maximize return on investment and make sure that customers can purchase your products at the right place, time, and price.
  • Trade Promotion Planning - Trade promotions are a marketing tactic designed for general retail sales through time-sensitive offers, special pricing, value-added bonuses, product bundles, and no-obligation deals among others.

2. Product Portfolio Management
Product portfolio management covers activities involving the design, development, manufacturing, and market introduction of products. It also involves creating an exit strategy for products that are no longer profitable or need to be replaced by a superior product.

Examples of product portfolio management activities include-

  • New Product Introduction (NPI)
  • End-of-Life Strategy
  • Cannibalization Prevention
  • Brand Planning
  • Portfolio
  • Platform Planning

3. Supply Management
Supply management is focused on coordinating assets to ensure the efficient, smooth, and on-time delivery of products, services, and information from the business to the customer. A supply management suite includes activities such as-

  • Supply Planning - This involves identifying the strategies necessary to meet the requirements outlined by the demand plan. The goal is to balance supply and demand to meet business goals while minimizing surplus.
  • Production/Supply Planning - This addresses the production/manufacturing activities of the business and includes labor management, materials allocation, and production capacity.
  • Inventory Planning - These activities regulate optimal inventory levels based on sales needs and production capacity.
  • Capacity Planning - These activities involve the allocation of equipment and employees to meet production demand.
  • Distribution and Network Planning - This involves overseeing the transport of goods from supplier to manufacturer, and then to the point of sale. Common activities in distribution and network planning include warehousing, logistics, and packaging.

4. Sales and Operations Planning
Sales and operations planning is a recurring business process that covers a broad range of supply chain factors, including marketing, sales, demand forecasting, production, and inventory management, among others. The primary objective of most sales and operations planning sessions is to equip business leaders with the information to make decisions that determine how the business will be run.

Best Practices for Supply Chain Optimization

best practices for supply chain optimization 1594849484 8604

If supply chain management is the balancing act of keeping goods and services flowing throughout the supply chain network, then supply chain optimization has a much narrower focus.

Supply chain optimization involves a series of steps designed to reduce the costs of manufacturing, storing, and moving goods. In fact, businesses with optimized supply chains were revealed to have 15% lower supply chain costs and cash conversion cycles at least three times faster than companies with unoptimized supply chains.

Below are a few best practices for optimizing your supply chain.

  • Use Technology to Streamline Processes - According to a Zurich report, organizations are increasingly using technology to improve the efficiency of their supply chains. By 2030, 59.6% of companies predict that big data analytics will be used widely in their organizations.
  • Manage Supplier Relationships - Maintaining healthy long-term relationships with your suppliers allows for a free and constant exchange of feedback and information. Over time, these ideas can help create a more streamlined and effective supply chain that ensures the satisfaction of both parties.
  • Think Total Costs - When choosing suppliers and deciding between offers, always think of the total cost of the procurement rather than the price in the purchase order. Remember that acquisition only makes up 25% to 40% of the total cost of ownership (TCO) of a product or system. The remaining percentage goes to warehousing, transportation, and operating costs.
  • Choose Suppliers with Care - Expand your company's relationship with suppliers beyond the purchasing department. Nurture a collaborative relationship to get their feedback on how best to use their products or services to achieve your business goals.
  • Put Contract Management Under the Supply Chain - While procurement agents will try their best to get the lowest possible price on supplies and services, further savings can be realized by moving contract management under the supply chain. This allows supply chain managers to leverage spend on areas where there are opportunities to reduce costs and manage risks with supplier services.
  • Optimize Inventory - Inventory holding costs can eat up 60 percent of the cost of an item held in inventory for 12 months. To reduce surplus inventory, consider using forecasting and demand planning strategies to predict seasonal demand.

Now is the Time to Automate Supply Chain Management

Automation is poised to be the game-changer of supply chain management, and it's already here. In fact, 84% of respondents in the 2018 Supply Chain Management Priorities and Challenges survey believe that digitalization will have the most significant impact on the supply chain by 2021.

For example, supply chain software can keep an accurate record of orders businesses receive in real-time so they know how much inventory is available on hand. The software can also automatically alert supply chain managers when inventory is low or when there's a surplus of certain supplies, helping prevent stockouts and reduce inventory costs.

Automation through inventory ordering software eliminates the need for people to perform tedious and repetitive tasks manually, potentially saving thousands of worker hours in a year -hours that can be spent on strategic work that delivers more value to the business.

 cta content inline and exit intent