9 mins read

الدليل الكامل لأوامر الشراء وأنظمة

complete guide to purchase orders po systems
جين هيون

By جين هيون

الشراء أوامر الشراء ضرورية لعملية التجديد. واليوم، تستخدم العديد من الشركات أنظمة طلب مؤتمتة لإنشاء أوامر الشراء بسرعة وتتبع الإنفاق وإدارة المخزون بكفاءة.

في مرحلة ما، سيتعين على الشركة شراء منتجات أو خدمات من شركة أخرى. يمكن أن يكون هذا أي شيء من المواد الخام اللازمة للإنتاج، أو اللوازم للعمل المكتبي، أو الخدمات اللازمة لإدارة الأعمال. عادة ما تبدأ العديد من الشركات الصغيرة باتفاقات شفهية لإجراء هذه المعاملات. ولكن في مرحلة ما، ستطلب الشركات المزيد من الوثائق الرسمية في شكل أوامر شراء.

أمر الشراء (PO) هو عقد ملزم قانونا أو وثيقة مرسلة من قبل مؤسسة تجارية لشراء المنتجات والخدمات من بائع أو مورد. من منظور مالي، يسمح استخدام مستندات أمر الشراء للشركات بتتبع الإنفاق والتحكم فيه. و على الجانب المتعلق بالمخزون من الأمور, تلعب نظم أوامر الشراء دورا حاسما في رصد تدفق السلع مثل المواد الخام و الإمدادات.

ما هي المعلومات التي يحملها أمر الشراء؟

يتضمن مستند أمر الشراء القياسي بشكل عام المعلومات التالية-

  • نوع الصنف (الأصناف) أو الخدمة (الخدمات) التي يتم شراؤها
  • كمية الأصناف المشتراة
  • سعر الوحدة والسعر الإجمالي للأصناف أو الخدمات المطلوبة
  • تاريخ التسليم والموقع
  • الشركة عنوان الفواتير
  • شروط الدفع (على سبيل المثال، عند التسليم، على أقساط)
يأتي كل أمر شراء مع رقم فريد لتتبع عملية الشراء طوال عملية الشراء. وسيؤدي ذلك دوراً حاسماً في العديد من الوظائف التجارية، بما في ذلك، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر-

  • إدارة سلسلة الإمداد
  • إدارة المصروفات
  • تتبع تكاليف معالجة أمر الشراء

4 أنواع أوامر الشراء

4 types of purchase orders 1593043655 4471

في حين أن الغرض من أمر الشراء لا يزال ثابتا، هناك 4 أنواع رئيسية من أوامر الشراء حسب المناسبة.

1 - أوامر الشراء القياسية
هذا هو النوع الأكثر استخداما من أوامر الشراء ويستخدم عندما يعرف المشتري (الشركة) كل التفاصيل المتعلقة بالشراء. يجب أن تكون الشركة قادرة على تحديد الصنف أو الخدمة التي يحتاجونها بالإضافة إلى الكمية والإطار الزمني للتسليم وشروط الدفع.

2 - أوامر الشراء المخططة
تستند أوامر الشراء هذه إلى تقديرات احتياجات الأعمال المستقبلية وتقدم مقدما. من أجل إنشاء أمر شراء مخطط له، يجب أن يكون المشتري واضحًا بشأن أي صنف أو خدمة يحتاجونها، والسعر، وشروط الدفع. ومع ذلك، تستند الكمية إلى رقم تقديري، والإطار الزمني للتسليم غير مؤكد.

3 - أوامر الشراء الشاملة
تستخدم أوامر الشراء هذه عندما تقدم الشركات طلبات متعددة في وقت واحد من أجل الحصول على سعر مخفض أو التفاوض عليه. يتم استخدام أوامر الشراء الشاملة بشكل شائع عند وضع أوامر مجمعة.

4 - أوامر الشراء التعاقدية
هذا هو الشكل الأكثر رسمية لأمر الشراء و يوفر الحماية القانونية القصوى لجميع الأطراف المعنية. في هذه الحالة، يوافق العمل والمورد على عقد، والذي يوضح تفاصيل شرط مدة الشراء قبل إنشاء أمر الشراء.

كيف يعمل أمر الشراء؟

الشركات المختلفة غالبا ما يكون لديها طرق مختلفة لمعالجة أوامر الشراء. على سبيل المثال، وفقا لتقرير من CAPS Resarch، يمكن أن تقع مسؤولية الموافقة على أوامر الشراء على فريق إدارة التوريد (84٪)، أو مالك الميزانية (54٪)، أو التمويل الإدارة (21 في المائة). نسبة صغيرة من الشركات (8%) لا تتحمل حتى سلسلة من المسؤولية عن الموافقات على أوامر الشراء.

ومع ذلك، تتبع معظم المؤسسات نفس دورة الحياة عند إنشاء أوامر الشراء وإدارتها.

1 - طلب الشراء
تتضمن مرحلة الطلب تحديد حاجة الأعمال التي يمكن تلبيتها عن طريق شراء سلع أو خدمات. وبالنسبة للشركات التي لديها إدارات مشتريات مخصصة، تتضمن هذه الخطوة عادة الحصول على عروض أسعار من موردين متعددين والتفاوض بشأن الأسعار.

2 - الموافقة
تتضمن الخطوة الثانية الموافقة على أمر الشراء. وكما ذكر سابقا، فإن هذه العملية تعتمد في نهاية المطاف على هيكل الشركة وأساليبها. وتبين الأبحاث التي أجرتها شركة كوبا أن طلبات الموافقة على أمر الشراء تتم الموافقة عليها عادة من قبل مديري الإدارات الفردية (34٪)، أو مدير (مدراء) مخصص (31٪)، أو مزيج من الاثنين (27٪).

3 - معالجة أمر الشراء
هذه المرحلة هي حيث يحدث الإنشاء الفعلي لأمر الشراء. اعتمادًا على اعتماد الشركة للتكنولوجيا، يمكن إنشاء نقاط البيع وإرسالها إلى الموردين يدويًا أو شبه يدويًا أو على أساس آلي بالكامل. تبدأ معظم الشركات الصغيرة يدويًا باستخدام نماذج أوامر الشراء الورقية. ومع ذلك، سرعان ما يصبح هذا غير فعال مع نمو الأعمال التجارية. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، يقوم برنامج الشراء الآلي بإنشاء نقاط البيع وإرسالها تلقائيًا إلى النظام الأساسي المفضل للمورد.

4 - الإقرار
في هذه المرحلة، يقر المورد باستلام طلبك من خلال الموافقة على شروط طلب الشراء الخاص بك. غير أن هناك ظروفا غير متوقعة لا تترك لل موردين خيار سوى طلب شروط جديدة. عند حدوث ذلك، يمكن تغيير أمر الشراء من خلال عملية أمر تغيير.

5 - أمر تغيير أمر الشراء
يجوز لكل من المشتري أو المورد الشروع في عملية أمر تغيير. على جانب المورد، يمكن أن يحدث أمر تغيير بسبب التسعيرة غير الصحيحة، أو المخزونات، أو الأصناف الموقفة، أو الخلافات حول الأصناف في أمر الشراء. ومن ناحية أخرى، يطلب المشترون عادة أمر تغيير بسبب استخدام وحدة قياس غير صحيحة (UOM) في أمر الشراء.

أفضل الممارسات للتعامل مع أوامر الشراء

best practices for handling purchase orders 1593043655 6490

بينما تبدو عملية أمر الشراء بسيطة بما فيه الكفاية، يمكن أن تحدث أخطاء بشرية. لذلك، من المهم اتباع أفضل الممارسات لإدارة أمر الشراء.

  • الاستثمار في التكنولوجيا - اعتماد التكنولوجيا هو شيء الشركات من جميع الأحجام تكافح مع. وعلى مستوى المؤسسات، على سبيل المثال، لم يعتمد سوى ثلث قادة المشتريات تكنولوجيات حديثة مثل شبكات التعاون والتحليلات التنبؤية، وفقا لدراسة أجرتها شركة ديلويت. ومع ذلك، خطوات الطفل أفضل من التقاعس. فكر في الاستثمار في أفضل نظام لإدارة أوامر الشراء يمكنك تحمله.
  • النظام بالجملة - الشراء بكميات كبيرة هو تكتيك مجرب وثبت للاستفادة من وفورات الحجم. عندما يتم ذلك بشكل صحيح، فإنه يسمح للشركات لخفض التكلفة لكل وحدة من شرائها. ومع ذلك، فإن الصيد هو الاضطرار إلى إنفاق المزيد من المال مقدما. فكر في القيام بذلك فقط إذا كان عملك مستقر بما فيه الكفاية.
  • كن في الوقت المناسب - الوقت هو المال. جعل عادة معالجة وإرسال أوامر الشراء في الوقت المناسب. وكلما سرعان ما يحصل الموردون على أوامر الشراء الخاصة بك، كلما سرعان ما يمكنهم البدء في معالجة عملية الشراء. في ملاحظة منفصلة ولكن ذات صلة، تسمح أنظمة أوامر الشراء الآلية لفرق الشراء بتوفير الوقت من خلال التخلص من المهام الروتينية، مثل ملء النماذج يدويًا وإرسال أوامر الشراء عبر البريد الإلكتروني.
  • إشراك الموظفين - بدلاً من صومعة عملية الشراء في فريق واحد أو قسم واحد، فكر في إدخال نظام إدارة أوامر الشراء الذي يسمح للموظفين بإرسال طلبات شراء للوازم التي يحتاجونها في العمل. وبصرف النظر عن تمكينهم، فإن منح الفرق إمكانية الوصول إلى عملية الشراء يوفر لهم المزيد من المعلومات عن تدفق وتكلفة تشغيل الأعمال التجارية.

أخطاء إدارة أمر الشراء الشائعة في

كثير من الأحيان، من الأسهل معرفة ما لا يجب القيام به أكثر من ما يجب القيام به. كما أن هناك أفضل الممارسات عندما يتعلق الأمر بإدارة أمر الشراء، هناك أيضًا أخطاء شائعة تستحق أخذها في الاعتبار.

عدم مقارنة الموردين - نظرا لأن الأعمال التجارية تستخدم موردين معينين على نحو أكثر تواترا, فإن فريق المشتريات التابع لها سيعتمد على هذه الشركات بدافعة من الملاءمة. ولكن ما يحدث في كثير من الأحيان هو أن الفريق ينسى للتحقق من الصفقات التي قد يكون الموردين الآخرين. وقد يكون هذا خطأ مكلفا عندما تنطوي أوامر الشراء على مبالغ كبيرة من المال. تذكر دائمًا التحقق من الأسعار والأسعار والصفقات بين الموردين ومقارنتها.

تجاهل اقتراحات الموردين - من المرجح أن يعرف الموردون منتجاتهم بشكل أفضل مما تعرفه. لا تتجاهل أي نصيحة قد يقدمونها حول أشياء مثل التعامل مع الأموال وتخزينها وحتى توفير المال عند شراء منتجاتها.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بمقدمي الخدمات، من الجيد أن تستمع فرق الشراء إلى توصياتهم حول الخدمات التي تتناسب مع الاحتياجات الفورية للشركة. يمكنهم مقارنة هذا مع أبحاثهم الخاصة. خلاصة القول؟ لا يؤلم الاستماع إلى الموردين.

لا تتفاوض الأسعار - أسعار المورد نادرا ما إذا كان من أي وقت مضى, المنصوص عليها في الحجر. و حتى إذا ظل سعر المورد المذكور ثابتا, فإن عدم التفاوض يعني سرقة الشركة فرصة لتوفير المال. تذكر، المشترين والبائعين يريدون في نهاية المطاف نفس الشيء. كما يريد المشترون أن ينفقوا أقل قدر ممكن، يرغب الموردون أيضًا في توفير المال عن طريق الاحتفاظ بالعملاء. في الواقع، فإن زيادة معدلات الاحتفاظ بالعملاء بنسبة 5% فقط يمكن أن تزيد الأرباح بنسبة تصل إلى 95%.

ويمكن لوكلاء المشتريات إقناع الموردين بالتلاعب بالأسعار من خلال الإبلاغ عن رغبتهم في أن يكونوا عميلين على المدى الطويل.

عدم الدينامية - لكي تظل الشركات قادرة على المنافسة، يجب أن تتوقع ما يمكن أن تبدو عليه السوق في المستقبل القريب والبعيد. وقد يعني ذلك النظر إلى الموردين الناشئين الذين لديهم حلول مبتكرة أو الاستعداد لل اضطراب التكنولوجي التالي.

على سبيل المثال، وفقا لشركة Deloitte، يعتقد 33٪ من قادة المشتريات أن استراتيجيات الشراء الرقمية الخاصة بهم ستسمح لهم بتحقيق أهدافهم ودفع القيمة. بالنسبة لمتوسط الأعمال، وهذا يمثل فكرة عن اتجاه عمليات الشراء تسير.

عزل فرق الشراء - إنشاء فريق المشتريات هو شيء واحد، ولكن عزلها تماما عن بقية الشركة هو شيء آخر. الشراء هو جهد تعاوني يغطي العمل بأكمله - و أكثر من ذلك إذا كان الشراء ينطوي على إمدادات أو خدمات حيوية لل عمل الذي تقوم به فرق متعددة.و

يحتاج و كلاء المشتريات إلى إشراك المديرين أو الإدارات لفهم احتياجاتهم و معرفة كيفية و سبب استفادتهم من الأصناف أو الخدمات المطلوبة.

هل أوامر الشراء للشركات الكبيرة فقط؟

are purchase orders only for large businesses 1593043655 8480

ومع نمو أعمالك، سيريد الموردون والمتعاملون والبائعون في نهاية المطاف شيئًا رسميًا أكثر من المصافحة والترتيبات غير الرسمية. قد تبدو الاتفاقات غير المعلنة ملائمة في البداية، ولكن ماذا يحدث أثناء النزاع، أو مشكلة تتعلق بالدفع، أو الخلافات حول معايير الأداء والجودة؟

هذا هو المكان الذي تأتي فيه أوامر الشراء. فهي لا تنقل المعلومات إلى الموردين فحسب, بل تعمل أيضا كوثائق قانونية لكلا الطرفين. وأي نشاط تجاري، بغض النظر عن حجمه أو عدد مواقعه، سيحتاج في نهاية المطاف إلى نظام لتسجيل جميع أوامر الشراء السابقة والمستقبلية.

تظهر أنظمة أوامر الشراء الآلية

لأبحاث الإنقاذ من قبل CAPS أن 96% من الشركات تستخدم الآن برمجيات تخطيط موارد المؤسسة (ERP) لإنشاء أوامر شراء قياسية. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، لا تزال نسبة 17% فقط من الشركات تستخدم نظام أوامر الشراء اليدوي الورقي.

ولعل الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام هو أن ما يقرب من نصف (47٪) من الشركات التي تعتمد على برمجيات ERP تبلغ الآن عن استخدام أنظمة آلية لإنشاء نقاط البيع. فيما يلي بعض الأسباب التي تجعل هذه الشركات تسير على هذا الطريق.

تكاليف معالجة أقل لكل أمر شراء - كل دقيقة يقضيها الموظف في إنشاء أمر شراء يدويًا هي الوقت الذي يمكن أن يقضيه في مهام أكثر أهمية واستراتيجية. وكلما كان أمر الشراء أكثر تعقيدًا، كلما كان هناك حاجة إلى المزيد من الوقت والأشخاص لكتابة المستند ومراجعته وإرساله إلى الموردين.

ففي قطاع الهندسة و التشييد, على سبيل المثال, يبلغ متوسط تكلفة تجهيز أمر الشراء 226 1 دولارا. تعمل أنظمة أوامر الشراء الآلية على حل هذه المشكلة عن طريق القضاء على المهام الشاقة والمتكررة، مما يسمح لوكلاء المشتريات بالتركيز على الأعمال الأخرى.

مستويات أعلى من الإنتاجية - كما أن أنظمة أوامر الشراء اليدوية تؤدي إلى الهدر على طول سلسلة التوريد. خطر الخطأ البشري، من جهة، يمكن أن يعني قضاء المزيد من الوقت في تنظيف الفوضى مع أوامر التغيير، والتي، بدورها، يؤدي إلى إهدار الوقت والمال. يعمل البرنامج على إصلاح هذه المشكلة من خلال إدخال بيانات دقيقة وإرسال أوامر الشراء تلقائيًا إلى الموردين.

انخفاض خطر الغش - الاحتيال في المشتريات هو مشكلة تكلف الوكالات والمؤسسات الحكومية مئات الملايين من الدولارات كل عام. في المملكة المتحدة، فقدت دائرة الصحة الوطنية في البلاد أكثر من 300 مليون دولار في 2015 - 2016 بسبب الاحتيال في المشتريات والتعاقد.

أما بالنسبة للشركات، فإن خطر الاحتيال ينبع من نقاط الضعف في ضوابط الشراء، التي يمكن أن تستحدث مخططات لتسرب النقدية وإعداد الفواتير التي تتيح للأفراد عديمي الضمير سحب الأموال على مدى فترات طويلة من الزمن. يعمل نظام أمر الشراء الآمن على سد نقاط الضعف هذه من خلال تتبع النشاط المشبوه، مثل الزيادات المفاجئة في عمليات الشراء، أو أوامر الشراء التي تحتوي على أوصاف غامضة للأصناف، أو أوامر الشراء المكتوبة للبائعين الجدد مع القليل من المعلومات الأساسية أو بدون معلومات أساسية.

الرؤية الحبيبية - في حين أن أنظمة الشراء الورقية تترك مجموعة من النماذج والوثائق التي يمكن لفرق المشتريات اتباعها، فإن المرور عبر هذه الملفات سيستغرق وقتًا طبيعيًا. وهذا يعني أن الشركات التي لديها عمليات أوامر الشراء اليدوية غالباً ما يكون لها رؤية محدودة لإنفاق الشركة.



باستخدام أنظمة أوامر الشراء الآلية، يمكن لفرق الشراء الانتقال إلى مستوى البند في أوامر الشراء الخاصة بهم. وهذا يسمح للشركات للكشف عن الاتجاهات في الإنفاق وتخطيط الميزانيات بشكل أكثر كفاءة مع زيادة دقة عملية الشراء.

Purchase Order | 10 mins read

Complete Guide to Purchase Orders & PO Systems

complete guide to purchase orders po systems
Jin Hyun

By Jin Hyun

Purchase orders are essential to the replenishment process. Today, many businesses use automated ordering systems to quickly create purchase orders, track spending, and manage inventory efficiently.

At some point, a business will have to purchase products or services from another company. This can be anything from raw materials needed for production, supplies for office work, or services needed to run the business. Many small businesses typically start out with verbal agreements to conduct these transactions. But at some point, companies are going to ask for more official documentation in the form of purchase orders.

A purchase order (PO) is a legally binding contract or document sent by a business to procure the products and services of a seller or supplier. From a financial perspective, using purchase order documents allow businesses to keep track of and control spending. On the inventory side of things, purchase order systems play a crucial role in monitoring the influx of goods such as raw materials and supplies.

What Information Does a Purchase Order Carry?

A standard purchase order document will generally include the following information-

  • Type of item(s) or service(s) being purchased
  • Quantity of items purchased
  • Unit price and total price of items or services ordered
  • Delivery date and location
  • Company billing address
  • Payment terms (e.g., upon delivery, in installments)
Each PO also comes with a unique number to track the purchase throughout the procurement process. This will play a crucial role in several business functions, including, but not limited to-

  • Supply chain management
  • Expense management
  • Tracking PO processing costs

4 Types of Purchase Orders

4 types of purchase orders 1593043655 4471

While the purpose of the purchase order remains constant, there are 4 main types of purchase orders depending on the occasion.

1. Standard purchase orders
This is the most commonly used type of purchase order and is utilized when the buyer (the business) knows all of the details pertaining to the purchase. The business must be able to identify the item or service they require as well as the quantity, delivery timeframe, and payment terms.

2. Planned purchase orders
These purchase orders are based on estimations of future business needs and are submitted in advance. In order to create a planned purchase order, the buyer must be clear on what item or service they require, the price, and the payment terms. However, the quantity is based on an estimated figure and the delivery timeframe is unconfirmed.

3. Blanket purchase orders
These purchase orders are used when businesses place multiple orders at once in order to attain or negotiate a discounted price. The blanket purchase orders are most commonly used when placing bulk orders.

4. Contract purchase orders
This is the most formal variation of the purchase order and provides the most legal protection for all parties involved. In this situation, the business and vendor agree to a contract, which details the purchase term condition before the purchase order is created.

How Does a Purchase Order Work?

Different companies often have different ways of processing purchase orders. For example, according to a report by CAPS Research, the responsibility of approving purchase orders can fall on the supply management team (84%), the budget owner (54%), or the finance department (21%). A small percentage of companies (8%) don't even have a chain of responsibility for purchase order approvals.

Still, most organizations follow the same lifecycle when creating and managing purchase orders.

1. Requisition
The requisition stage involves identifying a business need that can be fulfilled by purchasing goods or services. For companies with dedicated procurement departments, this step typically involves acquiring quotes from multiple suppliers and negotiating prices.

2. Approval
The second step involves the approval of the purchase order. As mentioned earlier, this process ultimately depends on the company's structure and methods. Research by Coupa shows that PO approval requests are typically approved by individual department managers (34%), a dedicated procurement manager(s) (31%), or some combination of the two (27%).

3. PO processing
This stage is where the actual creation of the purchase order happens. Depending on the business's adoption of technology, POs can be created and sent to suppliers manually, semi-manually, or on a fully-automated basis. Most small businesses start out manually with paper-based purchase order forms. However, this quickly becomes inefficient as the business grows. In contrast, automated procurement software creates and sends POs automatically to the supplier's preferred platform.

4. Acknowledgment
At this stage, the supplier acknowledges receiving your request by agreeing to the terms of your purchase order. However, there are unforeseen circumstances that leave suppliers with no choice but to ask for new terms. When this happens, the PO can be changed through a change order process.

5. PO change order
Both the buyer or supplier may initiate a change order process. On the supplier side, a change order can happen due to incorrect pricing, stockouts, discontinued items, or disagreements over the items in the purchase order. On the other hand, buyers typically request a change order due to an incorrect unit of measure (UOM) being used in the purchase order.

Best Practices for Handling Purchase Orders

best practices for handling purchase orders 1593043655 6490

While the purchase order process sounds simple enough, human errors can still occur. Therefore, it's important to follow best practices for managing PO's.

  • Invest in technology - Technology adoption is something businesses of all sizes struggle with. At the enterprise level, for example, only a third of procurement leaders have adopted modern technologies such as collaboration networks and predictive analytics, according to a study by Deloitte. Still, baby steps are better than inaction. Consider investing in the best purchase order management system you can afford.
  • Order in bulk - Buying in bulk is a tried and proven tactic to leverage economies of scale. When done right, it allows businesses to reduce the cost per unit of their purchase. However, the catch is having to spend more money upfront. Consider doing this only if your business is stable enough.
  • Be timely - Time is money. Make a habit of processing and sending purchase orders in a timely fashion. The sooner suppliers get your purchase orders, the sooner they can begin processing the purchase. On a separate, but related note, automated purchase order systems allow purchasing teams to save time by eliminating routine tasks, such as manually filling out forms and sending POs via email.
  • Get employees involved - Rather than silo the procurement process in one team or department, consider introducing a purchase order management system that allows employees to send purchase requests for the supplies they need at work. Apart from empowering them, giving teams access to the procurement process provides them more insight into the flow and cost of operating the business.

Common Purchase Order Management Mistakes

Oftentimes, it's easier to know what not to do than what to do. Just as there are best practices when it comes to purchase order management, there are also common mistakes worth keeping in mind.

Not comparing suppliers - As a business uses certain suppliers more frequently, its procurement team will come to depend on these companies out of convenience. But what often happens is that the team forgets to check what deals other suppliers may have. This can be a costly mistake when purchase orders involve large sums of money. Always remember to check and compare prices, rates, and deals between suppliers.

Ignoring suppliers' suggestions - Suppliers are likely to know their products better than you do. Don't ignore any advice they might give about things like handling, storing, and even saving money when buying their products.

When it comes to service providers, it's a good idea for procurement teams to listen to their recommendations about which services match the company's immediate needs. They can compare this with their own research. Bottom line? It never hurts to listen to suppliers.

Not negotiating prices - Supplier prices are rarely if ever, set in stone. Even if a supplier's quoted price stays fixed, failing to negotiate means robbing the company of an opportunity to save money. Remember, buyers and sellers ultimately want the same thing. Just as buyers want to spend as little as possible, suppliers also want to save money by retaining customers. In fact, increasing customer retention rates by just 5% can increase profits by up to 95%.

Procurement agents can convince suppliers to tinker with prices by communicating a willingness to be a long-term customer.

Not being dynamic - To remain competitive, businesses must anticipate what the market could look like in both the near and far future. This might mean looking at emerging suppliers with innovative solutions or preparing for the next technological disruption.

For example, according to Deloitte, 33% of procurement leaders believe their digital procurement strategies will allow them to achieve their objectives and drive value. For the average business, this represents a clue of the direction procurement processes are going.

Isolating procurement teams - Creating a procurement team is one thing, but completely isolating them from the rest of the company is another. Procurement is a collaborative effort that covers the entire business - more so if the purchase involves supplies or services vital to the work being done by multiple teams.

Procurement agents need to engage managers or departments to understand their needs and find out how and why the items or services being ordered benefit them.

Are Purchase Orders Only for Large Businesses?

are purchase orders only for large businesses 1593043655 8480

As you grow your business, your suppliers, dealers, and vendors will eventually want something more official than handshakes and informal arrangements. Unspoken agreements might seem convenient at first, but what happens during a dispute, an issue about payment, or disagreements about performance and quality standards?

This is where purchase orders come in. They not only convey information to suppliers, but they also serve as legal documentation for both parties. And any business, regardless of its size or number of locations, will eventually need a system for recording all of its past and future purchase orders.

Automated Purchase Order Systems to the Rescue

Research by CAPS shows that 96% of companies now use enterprise resource planning (ERP) software to create standard purchase orders. In contrast, only 17% of companies still use a paper-based manual purchase order system.

Perhaps most interesting is that nearly half (47%) of companies that rely on ERP software now report using automated systems to create POs. Here are a few reasons why these businesses are going this route.

Lower processing costs per purchase order - Every minute an employee spends creating a purchase order manually is time they could have spent on more important and strategic tasks. And the more complex a purchase order is, the more time and people are needed to write up, review, and send the document to suppliers.

For example, in the engineering and construction sector, the average processing cost of a purchase order is $1,226. Automated purchase order systems solve this problem by eliminating tedious and repetitive tasks, allowing procurement agents to focus on other work.

Higher levels of productivity - Manual purchase order systems also introduce wastage along the supply chain. The risk of human error, for one, can mean spending more time cleaning up messes with change orders, which, in turn, results in time and money wasted. Software fixes this problem with accurate data entry and automated sending of POs to suppliers.

Lower risk of fraud - Procurement fraud is a problem that costs government agencies and institutions hundreds of millions of dollars each year. In the UK, the country's National Health Service lost more than $300 million in 20152016 to procurement and contracting fraud.

For businesses, the risk of fraud stems from weaknesses in purchasing controls, which can introduce cash leakage and billing schemes that let unscrupulous individuals siphon cash out over extended periods of time. A secure purchase order system plugs these weaknesses by tracking suspicious activity, such as sudden increases in purchases, POs with vague descriptions of items, or POs written out to new vendors with little to no background information.

Granular visibility - While paper-based purchasing systems leave a trail of forms and documents that procurement teams can follow, going through these files will naturally take time. This means that businesses with manual purchase order processes often have limited visibility of their company spend.



With automated purchase order systems, procurement teams can drill down to the line item level of their POs. This allows businesses to detect trends in spending and plan budgets more efficiently while increasing the accuracy of the purchasing process.